Corofin to defend All-Ireland Sevens crown

Five Galway teams, Corofin, Tuam Stars, Milltown, Kilkerrin Clonberne and Caherlistrane, will be aiming for All-Ireland honours at the 42nd FBD All-Ireland Senior Football Sevens at Kilmacud Crokes in Dublin on Saturday.

Corofin will be aiming to retain the title they won last year, and are placed in Group 5 along with Errigal Ciaran of Tyrone, St Laurences of Kildare, and Waterford's Clashmore.

Tuam Stars are in Group 1 with Emo of Laois, Dr Crokes of Kerry, and Down's Ballyholland Harps.

Group 3 pits Milltown with Castletown Liam Mellows of Wexford, St Olaf's of Dublin, and Donegal side Ardara.

In Group 4 Kilkerrin Clonberne are paired with Arles/Kilcruise of Laois, Derry side Erin's Own Lavey and St Galls of Antrim.

Caherlistrane are in Group 6 with Longford Slashers, Dromore St. Dympna's of Tyrone, and St. Patrick's Donagh of Fermanagh.

A highlight of the FBD7s will be the Celebrity Charity Football Match between Kerry and Donegal, being played in honour of Kilmacud Crokes man Gerry Collins who is the public face of the HSE QUIT smoking campaign. Legends of Donegal's first All-Ireland winning team in 1992 such as Manus Boyle, Brian Murray and Barry McGowan will take on their Kerry All Star counterparts such as Dara O’Sé, Seamus Moynihan and Stephen Stack. Many more big names are also expected to don the jersey one more time and renew old rivalries in a charity match in aid of Fundúireacht Páidí Ó Sé and and a Donegal cancer charity.


Page generated in 0.1351 seconds.