Clonbur claim intermediate crown with accomplished display

A more experienced Clonbur claimed this year’s Galway Ladies Intermediate Club Football Championship after defeating Annaghdown in Saturday’s final in Monivea by 5-14 to 3-7.

Two first-half goals set the winners on their way as they took a 2-6 to 0-6 lead at the break.

Although Annaghdown had started the better with an early Grainne Barret pointed free, Clonbur replied immediately with a goal from Sinead NicAoghadhain.

Another Barret free reduced the gap, but Clonbur added another goal and a point to increase their lead as Annaghdown struggled with Clonbur's sweeper system.

It was the 16th minute before they pointed again from the boot of Grainne Barret, but four Clonbur points, two from Lorna Joyce and one each from Mairead and Aoibheann Joyce, increased their lead before Annaghdown scored again from the boot of Chloe Crowe. Annaghdown received a lifeline in the 24th minute when Clonbur's Sinead Egan received a yellow card and Rachel King struck the post in the 21st minute before two frees from Grainne Barret and another Joyce point for Clonbur brought the half to a close.

With Egan still in the sin-bin, Annaghdown took advantage from the throw-in with Grainne Barret grabbing a goal in the opening minute. However hopes of a revival were dashed when Clonbur scored 2-04 without reply, killing off any chance of a come back. Mairead Joyce kicked three points and Egan, on her return, scored 1-01 to seal Annaghdown's fate, running out easy winners.

Clonbur: Rita Ni Chearnaigh, Aoife Ni Chiarragain, Tricia Ni Mhorain, Paula Ni Gearailt, Eimear De Bhallais, Aoife Sheoige, Aisling Nic Aodhagain, Sinead Nic Aodhagain(3-3 ), Jackie Ni Mhoraoin(1-0 ), Karen Ui Cathain, Aoibheann Seoighe(0-3 ),Mairead Seoighe(0-5 ), Deirdre Seoighe(0-1 ), Lorna Seoighe(0-2 ), Cliona Seoighe.

Annaghdown: Mary Kate Killilea, Katy Moylan, Marian Murray, Martina Canavan, Jemma Burke, Niamh Duggan, Theresa Fahy, Nicky Burke(1-0 ), Chloe Crowe(1-1 ), Nicola Comer, Rachel King, Martha Goaley, Julie Flaherty, Grainne Barret(1-6, 6f ), Vicky Furey.


Page generated in 0.1869 seconds.