Galway U 16s claim Connacht crown

Galway u16 girls claimed the Connacht title in Charlestown on Sunday last but were made fight all the way by a determined Roscommon side. The Rossies played with the wind in the first half but it was Galway that started the better and were two points up inside three minutes, with points from Riona Ni Fhlatharta and Leanne Coen.

Galway lost Bronagh Quinn through injury in the ninth minute and Roscommon were in front by the 12th minute when the livley number 10, Meaveen Green, begged 1-02 without reply. In fact the Galway goal led a charmed life for the next 10 minutes as Roscommon increased the pressure. Laura Hession pulled off a fantastic save in the Galway goal in the 12th minute and three minutes later Roscommon’s Katie Daly struck the crossbar.

Daly and Green increased the Roscommon lead before Ni Flatherty hit the back of the net for Galway in the 23rd minute. Eimear O’Kane followed with a point but Roscommon closed the half with two points from Niamh Feeney to leave the half-time score at Galway 1-03 Roscommon 1-06.

Meaveen Green pointed for Roscommon at the start of the second half as they increased their lead. Galway needed a goal and it came in the fourth minute from Leanne Coen and this was quickly followed with a point from Niamh Daly. Shauna O Connell replied with a point for Roscommon and the impressive Ni Flatharta added another for Galway.

Galway were now finally getting into gear and after Eimear O’Kane just missed the post, Ni Flatherty and Chelsea Blade kicked two points as Galway finally took the lead. Roscommon still looked dangerous and in the 27th minute Laura Hession pulled off another save and the rebound just scraped the outside of the upright. Galway added three points to close the game and it finished at Galway 2-10 Roscommon 1-08.

Galway: Laura Hession, Orla Canneey, Elle Glynn capt, Anna Ni Odhrain Ni Mhurchu, Bronnagh Quinn, Sarah Donnellan, Caoimhe Keavney, Siobhan Divilly, Niamh Daly (0-02 ), Claire Dunleavy, Chelsea Blade (0-01,1f ), Riona Ni Flatharta (1-03 ), Leanne Coen (1-02 ), Eimear O Kane (0-01 ), Amy Mee.

Subs: Alanagh Mc Brien for Bronagh Quinn, Grace Cahill for Claire Dunleavey, Ailbhe Daveron for Eimear O Kane, Emma Jane Bane for Sarah Donnellan


Page generated in 0.1058 seconds.