Seán Tyrrell to release new album

‘GALWAY BAY’, ‘Come Back Paddy Reilly’, ‘The Mountains Of Mourne’, and ‘The Star Of The County Down’, are some of the best known songs in the Irish repertoire.

Seán Tyrrell and has recorded these and 14 other Irish standards on his new album Moonlight On Galway Bay. The album will be released in the first week in June and will be followed by a concert in Johnston’s Hostel, Kinvara, on Saturday June 7 at 8.30pm and a gig in The Crane Bar, Sea Road, on Friday June 27.

The origins of Moonlight On Galway Bay go back to the 1990s when Davy Spillane suggested Seán record such an album. Later, a chance request for ‘Galway Bay’ during a concert in Milwaukee got Seán thinking.

Actor, writer, and musician Little John Nee said of the album:

“He has taken these old gems and lovingly breathed new live into them. Presenting them in his own inimitable style. No big symphonic manoeuvre. For Seán it is always about the lyric and getting the story across. It is a very rare treat to hear a song for the first time and be able to sing along with it. With the help of a small eclectic band of great musicians once again Seán has delivered a rare and wonderful album.”

The album is dedicated to Margaretta D’Arcy “and her inspirational stand for peace”. See


Page generated in 0.1002 seconds.