Marmion leads Connacht award winners

Connacht's talented young scrumhalf Kieran Marmion won the Players' Player of the Year Award at the province's annual awards evening at the weekend.

Marmion, who is part of Joe Schmidt's training squad, won the top award which was voted by the his fellow players.

The 21-years-old Marmion, who has been involved in all Connacht games this season, holds the record of top try scorer of this season, having bagged that vital try against Toulouse in France.

Marmion was also won the Back of the Year award, while club captain John Muldoon scooped the Forward of the Year honour.

Connacht prop Ronan Loughney won the Connacht Rugby Team Man of the Year, having demonstrated exceptional commitment to the game both on and off field. He continues to match his playing and training with team support, work, charity, as well as community involvement.

The Academy Player of the Year was awarded to 21-years-old Buccaneers player Jack Carty. After captaining the Connacht Eagles in the British & Irish Cup, he went on to earn a handful of senior caps under Pat Lam and has earned a full professional contract.

John O'Driscoll was inducted into the Connacht Rugby Hall of Fame for his contribution to rugby in Connacht, Ireland and with the British & Irish Lions. O'Driscoll, an uncle of Brian, played for Connacht in the 1970s and toured South Africa (1980 ) and New Zealand (1983 ) with the British and Irish Lions, playing in six of the eight tests.

In 1982 he helped steer Ireland to a first Triple Crown success in over 13 years, playing alongside Fergus Slattery and Willie Duggan.

Connacht Schools Player:Conan O'Donnell, Summerhill College, Sligo; Connacht u-18 club player: Matthew Cosgrove, Sligo RFC; Connacht u-19 Player:Rory Moloney; Connacht u-20 player: Sean O'Brien; Connacht senior women’s player: Claire Raftery; Connacht women’s club player: Ruth O'Reilly, Galwegians RFC; Connacht club of the year: Galwegians RFC; Connacht coach :Chris Davies, St Geralds College, Castlebar; Connacht volunteer: Geraldine McNally, Loughrea RFC; Connacht referee: Daniel Collins; Connacht junior club player: John Hayes, Ballinasloe RFC; Connacht senior club player: Mark Dolan, Buccaneers RFC; Connacht Rugby Academy player :Jack Carty; Connacht Rugby forward:John Muldoon; Connacht Rugby back, Kieran Marmion; Connacht Rugby team man, Ronan Loughney; Connacht Rugby players’ player: Kieran Marmion; Connacht Rugby Hall of Fame:JohnO'Driscoll.


Page generated in 0.2209 seconds.