Wegians’ cup runneth over

Jerome Harrimate, Ulster Bank League division 2A Player of the Year, with Ireland coach Joe Schmidt.

Jerome Harrimate, Ulster Bank League division 2A Player of the Year, with Ireland coach Joe Schmidt.

Galwegians centre Jerome Harrimate was named the division 2a Player of the Year at the Ulster Bank Rugby Awards in Dublin.

Born in Nelson, New Zealand, Harrimate joined Wegians last summer from Ballina, following his coach and fellow Kiwi Cory Brown to Glenina.

Harrimate quickly made a name for himself in the Wegian side, and although his versatility saw him play some games on the wing, it was at outside centre where he had his greatest impact, finishing joint top try-scorer with six tries in the UBL campaign. The award was made by members of the media, and Harrimate received his award from Joe Schmidt at a ceremony in Dublin.

Galwegians were also on the podium at the Connacht Rugby Awards held in UCG, winning the Connacht Club of the Year after a significant haul of silverware, which included a Connacht Senior Cup and League double, Women's All-Ireland Cup, Heineken Junior Cup, u-17 All-Ireland finalists, and promotion for both the senior and second XV from the Ulster Bank Division 2a and Connacht Junior 1B Leagues respectively.

There were also individual awards for the Ireland u-20’s captain Sean O’Brien (u-20 Player of the Year ), assistant senior team coach John Muldoon (Connacht Forward of the Year ), Claire Raftery (Connacht Women's Player of the Year ) and captain Ruth O’Reilly (Women’s Club Player of the Year ).

Wegians win u-15 cup with dogged defence

Galwegians added more silverware to their trophy cabinet when their u-15s became Connacht champions after a tense and hard-fought 5-0 win over a gallant Creggs side at the Sportsground on Sunday.

Wegians enjoyed the perfect start when full-back Hugh Lane scored an unconverted try after five minutes. Wegians dominated the first-half, but struggling to retain possession, failed to add to their score. Creggs took over the second half, but only dogged defence ensured Galwegians kept their line intact to claim this year’s cup.

Galwegians u-15 squad: J Gallagher, R Corless, E Flynn, J Fogarty (cpt ), I Wynne, J Butler, N Mulcahy, D Codyre, H Lane, S McArdle, A Martyn, E Heapes, E Conroy, C Gillespie, A Mannion Edwards, C O'Toole, B Lavelle, R Breathnach, R Hennessy.


Page generated in 0.2228 seconds.