Medtronic advance to All Ireland final

Medtronic footballers have qualified for the All Ireland senior interfirms football championship final for the first time when they had three points to spare over Mountjoy PO in the semi-final at the Na Fianna GAA Grounds in Dublin.

In another impressive performance from the Galway men, who won the All Ireland junior title two years ago, Medtronic had many heroes in this 0-15 to 1-9 win, including goalkeeper David Morris, who saved two penalty kicks, Ger Cafferty and Enda Mullarkey in defence, Luke Tierney, who put in a solid shift in the centre, and Barry O 'Donavan, Cian Mimnagh and Keith Murphy who pulled the strings in attack.

Medtronic enjoyed the better of the first half exchanges and led by three points, but Mountjoy fought back well in the second half. The sides were level twice in the second period before the fitter Medtronic side finished stronger for a hard-earned victory.

Barry O’Donavan, Cian Mimnagh, Colm O'Donavan and Luke Tierney edged Medtronic ahead, and although Mountjoy levelled again, Medtronic finished the half the stronger with Barry O’Donavan, Keith Murphy and Luke Tierney putting the Tribesmen three clear before Sean Regan and Cian Mimnagh exchanged late points.

Mountjoy, with three Ger Tracy points, levelled the contest again, but Barry O'Donavan was on target two minutes later, while David Morris once again stopped Donal Ward’s spot kick. And when Mountjoy’s David Sheridan was black carded, O'Donavan converted the resultant free to edge Medtronic two clear.

Although Mountjoy were back on level terms as the contest entered the final quarter, Medtronic turned the screw. Substitute Patrick Fahy pointed before two great Enda Mullarkey efforts left the winners three clear as Medtronic took control. Patrick Fahy and the impressive O'Donavan rounded off the scoring to set up an All Ireland final with the Cork Garda with hopes of keeping the All Ireland title in Galway for a fourth year.

Medtronic: D Morris, R McDermott, K Dooher, A Warde, G Cafferky, E Mullarkey(0-2 ), R Rogers, M Sayers, L Tierney(0-2 ), M Kelly, K Murphy(0-1 ), B O’Donavon(0-1 ), M Lundy, C.Mimnagh(0-2 ), C O’Donavon(0-5 ) Sub: P. Fahy(0-2 ).


Page generated in 0.1857 seconds.