Thornton’s New Year Resolution

Gary Thornton, Galway’s top distance runner, took a convincing victory in the first race in Galway in 2014.

This year’s race saw more than 350 runners shake off the New Year’s celebrations and complete the fourth annual Resolution run, organised by Athenry AC stalwart Tony Killarney, in aid of two good causes, around the city centre streets of Galway.

Thornton raced clear from the start and led all the way, winning in a time of 15.01. Second home was GCH’s rising star Keith Fallon in 15.55, and third was another young prospect, Jamie Fallon of Craughwell AC, in 16.04. The evergreen Michael O’Connor, double national marathon title winner, was fourth in 16.14, taking the Masters’ prize.

There was quite a battle for the women’s prize, with MSB AC athlete and former All Ireland cross country medallist Eimear O’Leary just doing enough to take first place, in 18.29, only nine seconds clear of Jane Ann Healy of Athenry AC. Early leader Irene Gorman, running with TCD, finished third in 19.08.

The Galway Cith Harriers’ men and women took both team prizes.

National Indoor Club League

Round one of this new competition took place in the new indoor arena in Athlone IT last weekend. Local club Craughwell AC had both men and women’s squads compete and they finished in 11th and third positions respectively after the first round.

The men’s team saw Damien O’Boyle run 2.00.42 for 800m - an event in which Craughwell had several athletes competing, including Peadar Harvey, who ran 2.01.64, John Cormican who ran 8.08 in the 60m, and David Farrell jumped 5.54m to take points in the long jump.

The women’s squad had points scorers in Caitriona Farrell in the long jump with a leap of 5.09m, Jane McNally with a throw of 6.77m in the shot, Tara McNally ran 8.49 in the 60m, Sarah Finnegan ran 10.1 in the 60m hurdles, and Rachel Finnegan ran 2.38 in the 800m - an excellent result by the Craughwell women.


Page generated in 0.1011 seconds.