Corofin overcome St Gall’s to win All-Ireland Sevens crown

Corofin lost the Kilmacud All-Ireland Sevens championship final last year to St Gall’s in a penalty shoot-out, and they also lost an All-Ireland senior club semi-final to the same opposition a few years ago after extra-time, in Parnell Park.

Both defeats hurt. As a result there was great satisfaction with last Saturday’s success in the FBD Kilmacud Crokes All-Ireland Football Sevens championship when they defeated Galls by 2-6 to 1-8 in the final.

Corofin led by 1-3 to 0-4 at half time with Padraig Kelly the goal-scorer.

However, St Gall’s forced their way back into contention and it looked like history would repeat itself when CJ McGourty netted a penalty in the closing stages to edge the Belfast boys in front.

There was a late twist, however, when Dave Morris fired home a crucial penalty to secure the title for Corofin, after team captain Gary Sice was fouled.

Morris, who is also in charge of the club seniors this year alongside Mayo man Stephen Rochford, hit a superb shot to win the title for a second time for the club.

St Gall’s, who had won three of the last previous five titles at the Stillorgan venue, kept fighting back and scored a late point to leave the minimum between the sides, but when they lost two players to late red cards, the north Galway men held out for a sweet victory.

This was Corofin's third All-Ireland sevens title, adding to the wins they had in 1999 and 2004.

Corofin are due to face current champions Salthill-Knocknacarra in the senior county final on Sunday October 13, and last Saturday’s title will be a morale boost for the panel before that decider.

Scorers for Corofin in final: J Leonard 0-3(1f ); D Morris(pen ), P Kelly 1-0 each; S Monaghan, G Sice(f ), M Lundy 0-1 each.

Corofin Sevens panel: D Morris, B O'Donovan, A.Burke, M.Lundy, S.Monaghan, K Murphy, G Sice (cpt ), J Leonard, D Burke, P Kelly.



Page generated in 0.1230 seconds.