Wegians edge title in extra time

Galwegians retained their Connacht Senior League title for the third year running by defeating old rivals Corinthians by 19-16 after extra time at Crowley Park on Saturday evening.

In this winner-takes-all clash,Wegians took the lead with two penalties from fullback Darragh Leader before Corinthians opened their account when David Panter narrowed the gap to three points. The hosts were on top in the first half, and when Corinthian Eoghan Masterson was yellow carded, Wegians capitalised, scoring two tries before the break - the first by winger Colin Conroy, and the second by Connacht squad member Brian Murphy for a 16-3 lead.

However Corinthians started dominating both possession and position, but they failed to get on the scoreboard until the final quarter when Wegian sub prop Paul Griffin was sinbinned.

Right wing Eoin Daly touch downed with 10 minutes remaining before Connacht’s Aaron Conneely followed suit. Panter held his nerve to bring the game level with a penalty, but in extra time Wegians regained the initiative. Leader kicked them 19-16 ahead which was enough to secure this season’s trophy.

Galwegians XV: D Leader; C Conroy, J Harrimate, B Murphy, R Moore; R Shaughnessy, M Connolly; E Rooney, A O’Sullivan, D McCabe; B McClearn, D Nolan; D McHugh, C Muldoon, J Naughton; Subs: R Burke, B Lee, J East, P Griffin, R Fitzgerald.

Corinthians XV: D Panter; C Flaherty, E Daly, F Gormley, P Noone; I Venter, M Walsh; S Gerrity, A Conneely, E. Masterson; C Raftery, G Warde; T Toolan, M Byrne, A Walsh. Subs: T Stapleton, A Glynn, D Phelan, M Murphy, D Keogh.


Page generated in 0.1600 seconds.