Mayor calls for nominations for annual awards

Mayor of Galway Terry O’Flaherty

Mayor of Galway Terry O’Flaherty

Galwegians who volunteer in all areas of city life, be it sport, the arts, youth work, or in the community generally, are eligible for nomination for The Mayor’s Awards 2012.

Nominations are now open for the 10th annual Mayor’s Awards which will be presented by the Mayor of Galway Terry O’Flaherty later this year.

The Mayor’s Awards acknowledge outstanding people and organisations that, through their commitment to participating in unpaid community and voluntary activities, have had a significant impact on the quality of life of their communities in Galway city.

There are eight individual Mayor’s Awards: St Anthony’s & Claddagh Credit Union arts, culture, heritage and cúrsaí Gaeilge Award; St Columba’s Credit Union residents and local areas Award; Naomh Pádraig Credit Union social and community service Award; Older Volunteer of the Year Award; Sports Volunteer of the Year Award; Children and Youth Support Award; Young Volunteer of the Year; and The Galway City Credit Unions Volunteer of the Year.

Award winners will receive a specially commissioned trophy and a cheque for €700. All nominees will be presented with an individually designed Mayoral Certificate at the Awards ceremony which will be held in April in the Black Box Theatre.

The closing date for nominations is Thursday February 28. Nomination forms are available from City Hall, credit union offices in the city, and to download from For more information see or call 091 - 536406.



Page generated in 0.2247 seconds.