College sailors win award

The young sailors of NUI Galway have won this year’s prestigious Boat of the Year award.

The NUI Galway campaign, sailing Martin Breen's Galway Reflex 38 yacht in this year’s Round Ireland Yacht Race, was chosen ahead of six other shortlisted boats.

The award was presented at the annual Irish Cruiser Racing Association’s conference in Kilkenny at the weekend.

Racing in this year’s Round Ireland under the banner of NUIGALWAY, the students won class two and were the first Irish fixed keel boat, finishing sixth overall.

The ICRA judges said the students embodied the spirit of ICRA with a campaign that featured competition in many venues around the country. They were also class one winners in the Pwllheli to Wicklow ISORA race in preparation for June's Round Ireland race.

The NUI Galway Round Ireland crew were Ben Scallan (helm ), Eoghan McGregor (helm ), Joan Mulloy (trimmer ), Mark Armstrong (trimmer ), Cathal Clarke (trimmer ); Back row (left to right ) Eoin Breen (bowman ), Conor Kinsella (mainsail trimmer ), David Fitzgerald, (bowman ), Louis Mulloy (bowman ) and Ruaidhri De Faoite (mainsail trimmer ).


Page generated in 0.2238 seconds.