Galway’s horrible record in the qualifiers since 2006

Galway footballers have only won one Connacht senior title since 2005. Or putting it another way, the county has only bagged one senior provincial title in seven years. Not good.

In 2008, Galway defeated Mayo in McHale Park in the Connacht final on a score-line of 2-12 to 1-14.

In the intervening years, the county footballer’s record in the All-Ireland qualifiers has been really abysmal and the county has not won a single game in the qualifiers in the six years they have taken part.

Five of those games have ended in agonising one point defeats. The only exception was in 2007, when Meath defeated a team managed by Peter Forde by three points.

Galway’s qualifier score-lines since 2006:

2006 – Westmeath 1-8 Galway 0-10 at Pearse Stadium

2007 - Meath 2-14 Galway 1-14 at O’ Moore park - Portlaoise

2009 - Donegal -14 Galway 0-13 at Markievicz Park

2010 - Wexford 1-11 Galway 0-13 at Pearse Stadium

2011 - Meath 0-11 Galway 0-10 at Páirc Tailteann (Navan )

2012 - Antrim 0-11 Galway 0-10 at Casement Park (Antrim )


Page generated in 0.2045 seconds.