Last call for nominations for 2012 Mayor’s Awards

The Mayor of Galway City, Councillor Hildgarde Naughton is urging the public to get nominating for this year’s Mayor’s Awards and help celebrate the fantastic work of volunteers across the spectrum of community life in the city.

The closing date for nominations is Wednesday, February 29, and are invited from people resident in Galway city for either individual volunteers or organisations. Nomination forms are available from City Hall, credit union offices in the city, or to download from

There are seven individual Mayor’s Awards, which are: St Anthony’s & Claddagh Credit Union Arts, Culture, Heritage & Cúrsaí Gaeilge Award; St Columba’s Credit Union Residents & Local Areas Award; Naomh Padraig Credit Union Social & Community Service Award; Business Volunteer of the Year Award; Sports Volunteer of the Year Award; Children and Youth Support Award; and Young Volunteer of the Year.

Each of the award winners will receive a Galway Crystal trophy and a cheque for €700 while all nominees will receive a specially designed certificate at the awards ceremony to be held in early April in the Black Box Theatre.

The three credit unions in Galway city, St Columba’s, Naomh Padraig and St Anthony’s & Claddagh have come together as joint sponsors and have generously agreed to continue as sponsors of the Galway City Credit Unions Volunteer of Year Award.

More details on the Mayor’s Awards are available from or by telephone at 091 536 406.


Page generated in 0.2504 seconds.