Gort fall to Coolderry goals

Galway hurling champions Gort had a disappointing outing in the Gaelic Grounds on Saturday afternoon in the All-Ireland club semi-final when they found the Offaly champions, Coolderry, too good on the day, losing out on a score-line of 3-16 to 0-17.

Ken Hogan’s side hit three goals and the statistic was accepted by Gort boss Mattie Murphy as key in the contest.

"We can have no complaints," said Murphy who was gracious in defeat.

"The better team won. We thought we had prepared very well, which we probably had, but goals win matches. We conceded three and scored none, that’s the bottom line.

"I think if we had got one of them [goal chances] we probably would have driven on, but we probably used up a large slice of our luck to get there today. You’d have to accept that the better team won on the day."

Gort had only trailed by four at the break (1-10 to 0-9 ), but a goal from close range early in the second half took a good deal of the sting out of the contest.

Gort rallied thanks to Gerry Quinn’s accuracy from frees – Mattie Murphy noted a touch of Kilkenny in Coolderry conceding frees rather than granting opponents a run through on goal – but the third goal, finished by Damien Murray after some measured build-up play, removed any suspense.

Coolderry were calm and composed throughout, particularly when Gort came at them in the second half. They did not panic when Gort ate into their lead, but kept working for each other and were duly rewarded with the victory.

It was a disappointing way for Gort’s season to end, but the memories of their first Galway county senior title since 1983 last autumn when Andy Coen hoisted the Tom Callanan Cup will not be forgotten.

When a club wins its first senior title in 28 years, it has to be considered a good season regardless of what happens in the All-Ireland club series.

Scorers for Gort: G Quinn 0-10 (7f 2 ‘65’ ), G O’Donoghue 0-2, A Harte, O Fahy, R Cummins, B Regan, J Grealish 0-1 each.

Gort: P Cummins; A Coen (cpt ), M McMahon, M Cummins; J Grealish, B Regan, S Og Linnane; G Lally, S Forde; G Quinn, P Killilea, A Harte; R Cummins, O Fahy, G O’Donoghue. Subs: T Linnane for McMahon, K Killilea for Forde, M Mullins for Regan, M Nestor for Harte.


Page generated in 0.1272 seconds.