St Brendan’s edge out Corofin in ladies’ senior decider

Six Galway Ladies’ Football championship deciders provided a feast of action at the weekend.

St Brendan's were crowned the senior champions and will play Carnacon in the Texco Connacht Senior Championship at a Galway venue on October 2, while Caltra Cuan's will represent Galway in the Texco Connacht Intermediate Championship and play either Cill Chomain (Mayo ) or St Mary's (Leitrim ) on October 8. On the same date Claregalway, the junior champions, will play Bornacoola (Leitrim ) at a Leitrim venue.

St Brendan’s 0-10

Corofin 0-9

The senior decider in Monivea lived up to its high expectations with a thrilling encounter between these two competitive, experienced teams.

Corofin started brightly with points from Tracey Leonard and Áine Seoige to give them a three-point advantage. However Gillian Joyce and Emma O’Malley responded for St Brendan’s with five unanswered points from frees and play.

A powerful shot by Joyce was deflected over the bar by Tina Hughes. AlthoughTracey Leonard converted a free for Corofin, St Brendan’s added two more to leave the half time score St Brendan’s 0-8 Corofin 0-4.

In the first 10 minutes of the second half Tracey Leonard, Michelle Glynn and Lisa Leonard contributed four points for Corofin to leave the sides level on eight points each.

However Gillian Joyce, who had an outstanding game for St Brendan’s, added two more, while Corofin finished their scoring with another Tracey Leonard free.

St Brendan’s backs worked hard to ensure a well-deserved victory by the narrowest of margins and they now face Carnacon in the Connacht Championship.

St Brendan’s: F Gilmore, A Quinn, A Gilmore, K Conboy, E Nolan, A Coleman, M Brennan, E Muldoon, N Lohan, H Hevehan, M Delaney, N O Rourke, G Joyce, E O’Malley, N Warde.

Corofin: T Hughes, R Hession, C Moloney, E Leonard, I Burke, M Glynn, C Leonard, P Gleeson, M Moloney, O Newell, M Burke, A Newell, T Leonard, A Seoighe, L Leonard.


Page generated in 0.1059 seconds.