Galway Garda overcome Boston for first interfirms title

Galway Garda 1-09

Boston Scientific 2-03

Galway Garda overcame champions Boston Scientific at a wet and windy Pearse Stadium to claim this year’s Galway Interfirms Junior Football Championship.

Despite the heavy underfoot conditions, both teams produced wholehearted displays, particularly when playing against the elements.

The Garda started with the wind advantage and a point from the dangerous Mark Caffery had the Garda off the mark. Points from Seamus Mc Donnell and Don Connellan increased their advantage, although Boston were playing some fine football and defended valiantly. Kevin Keane, after a fine run, opened their account, and the Garda,wasteful when in possession, were punished when a delivery from Fergus Gillespie found Danny Tuck inside the Garda rearguard and he made no mistake to put the champions in front after 22 minutes. However the Garda finished the half stronger with two McDonnell frees and an effort from Shane Waldron to leave the Garda ahead at the interval, 0 - 6 to 1- 01.

Boston started the second half brightly with a Fergus Gillespie free, reducing the margin to the minimum, and whenAlan Dillon goaled from close range, Boston were two clear. However when Caffery found the back of the Boston net to regain the lead for the Garda, they went on to dominate the remainder of the contest. Boston, playing with breeze, found scores hard to come by. and although another Gillespie free levelled the contest approaching the three quarter stage, the Garda, with Shane Walderon outstanding at midfield, finished the match the stronger. A Mc Donnell free regained their advantage before two late Caffery points sealed a deserved three-point victory for the Galway Garda

Galway Garda: A Keane, N Delaney, P Kelly, B Burke, R McIntyre, T Costelloe, S Durcan, S Fitzmaurice, S Waldron (0-1 ) M Sullivan, M Caffery (1-3 )D Connellan, D Mullahy, S McDonnell (0-4 ), D Connellan (0-1 ), B Meaney. Subs: J Fitzmaurice, P Foley.

Boston Scientific: S Sheridan, B Dillon, B O Connor, M Conway, D Graham, J Lardner, K Donaghy, K Keane (0-1 ), G Reynolds, A Dillon (1-0 ), F Gillespie (0-2 ), J Quinn, T Geraghty, P O Donnell, D Tuck (1-0 ) Substitutes: P Kearney, J Heelan, F Stapleton, R McCaul.

Referee: F Kinneen.


Page generated in 0.1085 seconds.