Galway Ladies Football celebrates a winning weekend

Galway Ladies Football are celebrating more success after the Claregalway u-14s were crowned All Ireland champions and the Galway minors captured the John Millar Minor Connacht trophy.

Claregalway’s title was won at Feile in Cork when they clinched the trophy for a second successive year, while the minors’ victory over Roscommon in Kiltimagh was their third Connacht title in a row.

Roscommon hit the pitch running and, playing with the breeze in the first half, opened the scoring in the first minute with a fine point from Natalie Mc Hugh. In the next 15 minutes Roscommon had points from McHugh, Caroline Gunning, and Laura Brudell to give them a six-point lead.

Although Galway responded with a Deirdre Brennan goal, Roscommon also netted soon after to maintain their healthy lead.

Galway then settled and found their rhythm. A goal and a point from Roisin Leonard and a goal from Charlotte Cooney gave them the lead for the first time. Laura Brudell and Roisin Leonard exchanged points before Roscommon levelled again through Deirdre Regan.

However Galway finished the half stronger. Two points from Roisin Leonard and a goal from Deirdre Brennan gave them a five-point advantage at the break.

Galway were much more composed in the second half, scoring 4 - 05, while Roscommon would only score 1 - 01, ensuring Galway ran out comfortable 8-13 to 2-9 winners.

Galway: Lisa Murphy, Cariosa McHugh, Cliodhna Maloney, Aoife Ni Cheallaigh, Ciara Meagher, Amy Rohan (capt ), Antoinette Cormican, Claire Gibbons, Tara Hession, Nicola Kilgarriff, Shauna Jackson, Charlotte Cooney, Niamh Thornton, Deirdre Brennan (player of the match ), Roisin Leonard, Katie Kilbane, Aoife Reilly, Ellen Muldoon, Aine Mannion, Lorna Fallon, Orla Dixon, Sarah O’Connell, Ina Butler, Ciara Heverin, Katie Higgins.


On Sunday the Galway Senior B team travelled to Dunshaughlin to play Meath in the Aisling McGing tournament. This was yet another good football game that went all the way to the wire and eventually Galway emerged with a one-point victory on a score line of Galway 2- 7 to Meath 0-12.

Galway: Lisa Murphy, Claire Gibbons, Niamh Connaughton, Siobhan Divilly, Aoife Reilly, Ciara Meagher, Ann Marie Flanagan, Tessa Mullins, Orla Dixon, Antoinette Cormican, Tara Hession, Aisling Donnelly, Eilis Gannon, Shelly Burke, Nikki Burke, Ann Marie Mongan, Cariosa Mc Hugh, Amy Rohan, Nicola Kilgarriff, Charlotte Cooney, Deirdre Brennan and Ciara Newell.


Page generated in 0.0879 seconds.