Semperit Irish Van of the Year 2009

The shortlist for the Semperit Irish Van of the Year 2009 has been announced by the Irish Motoring Writers Association Van of the Year jury.

The winner of the 2009 van title and category award winners (Car-derived van and SUV/ commercial ) will be announced at an awards ceremony in the Crowne Plaza Hotel, Santry, on Thursday November 21.

The finalists are as follows: Semperit Irish Van of the Year shortlist, Fiat Fiorino; Hyundai H1; Peugeot Bipper/ Citroen Nemo; Peugeot Partner/ Citroen Berlingo; Piaggio Porter; Renault Kangoo/ Compact; and Smith Electric Edison. Semperit Irish Car Derived Van of the Year shortlist, Ford Focus and the Hyundai Accent. Semperit Irish SUV / Commercial of the Year shortlist, Chevrolet Captiva; Citroen C Crosser/ Peugeot 4007; Dodge Nitro; Isuzu D-Max; Jeep Patriot; Nissan X-Trail; Opel Antara; Renault Koleos; Mercedes Benz M Class and the SsangYong Kyron Pick-up.

The Semperit Irish Van of the Year Jury omprises nine specialist members of the IMWA. In order to find the winning van and category winners each year, the jury members assess each van that is launched on the Irish market, grading each vehicle on such attributes as: value for money, versatility, build quality, and performance.

“In these tougher times, businesses and small operators really depend on their commercial vehicles to be reliable and cost efficient,” said Paddy Murphy, general manager of Semperit Ireland. “The choices of our experienced IMWA van jury are a valuable guide for Irish van owners who are thinking of replacing or upgrading their vehicles in the coming year.”

Last year’s Semperit Irish Van of the Year title was awarded to the Fiat Scudo. The car-derived van and commercial/SUV category awards went to the Kia Cee’d and the Land Rover Freelander respectively.


Page generated in 0.1756 seconds.