Schools’ cross country

The annual Galway AAI Primary Schools Cross Country Championships were held in Renmore with more than 800 children competing in the four races.

The junior girls 800m was won in style by Siobhan McGrath (Scoil Bhríde, New Inn ) who led her team to victory with an impressive 24 points ( Erica Leslie, Arlene Earls, Aisling Kenny ). Aoife Sheehy (Belmont NS ) took the individual silver with Dearbhla Cronin (Lisheenkyle NS ) in third. Craughwell NS took the team silver, led home by Sandra Greaney in fifth place, Jade Connolly, Laura Cunningham, and Mia Waters, while Scoil Mhuire Oranmore took the team bronze with a score of 98 points with Finola Kelly sixth, Jade Greaney, Laoise Claffey and Ekatherine Umbrsko.

In the junior boys 800m, Liam Egan (Athenry Boys NS ) took the Galway title in a tough battle with silver-medallist James Burke (Ballinasloe ) and bronze-medallist Brendan Cummins (Oranmore Boys School ). Oranmore Boys School clinched victory in the team event (Brendan Cummins, Cillian Doyle, Sean Delaney, Hugh Mulryan ), but were pushed all the way by Athenry (Liam Egan, Brandon Lee, Dean Treacy, Ciaran Hardiman ). Renmore Boys NS took the bronze (Kevin Hourigan, Cian Costello Hynes, Conor Hughes, Brian Flattery ).

The senior girls 1000m saw Grainne McDaid (Craughwell NS ) and Méadhbh Nic Aoidh (Scoil Fhursa ) battle from start to finish with the Craughwell girl having enough left in the tank to take the Galway title with a strong sprint up the home straight. McDaid also led her school to victory in the team event McDaid, Leanne Freaney, Amy Hynes, Emma Gaffney ). Shannon Lee (Pres Athenry ) took the individual bronze medal and led her team to silver ( Lee, Eimear, Keane, Niamh Keane, Olwyn McInerney ). Scoil Mhuire Oranmore took the bronze (Ciara Walsh,Rachael Walsh, Roisín Blade and Rachel Burke ).

Oisin Doyle (Oranmore Boys School ) was the convincing winner in the senior boys 1000m and led his school to victory with an impressive score of 22 points ( Doyle, James Cahalane, Eoin Rockall, Matthew Barrett ). Jack Fitzpatrick (Esker NS ) claimed individual silver with Seán Ó'Meachair (Scoil Fhursa ) in third place. Scoil Mhuire Clarinbridge took the team silver (William Corcoran, Liam Moran, Patrick Foley, Shane Ryan, while Carrabane were third (Keane Holloway, Jerry Keary, Mikey Burke, Colin Curley ).


Page generated in 0.1937 seconds.