Historic weekend for Salthill-Knocknacarra

Last Saturday was a historic day for the Salthill-Knocknacarra GAA Club as they captured both the junior A and junior B county titles in Tuam stadium.

They defeated Tuam Stars by 1-10 to 1-08 in the B final, and beat Ballinasloe 0-14 to 1-6 in the A final, sponsored this year by Car Parts Warehouse.

Tadhg Begley was manager of the B panel and he had fine displays from Carl Donlon, team captain Mark Sheehan, who scored 0-3 from midfield, and full-forward Gearóid Ó Leighinn.

In the A final Maurice Sheridan and Aonghus Callanan were the stand-out performers, scoring 10 points be tween them.

Team captain David Burke was also impressive at full back. The team was managed by JJ Burke, Brendan McBrien and Brendan Keane.

As a result of last weekend’s success, the club will field teams at senior, intermediate and junior A level in 2011.

Salthill Knocknacarra Junior A team: Cormac Connolly, Dave Fitzpatrick, David Burke (cpt ), Yohann Ott, Marty O'Connell, Conor Treacy, Ray Winters, Maurice Sheridan (0-7, 6fs ), Michael O'Donnell, Noel Tyrell (0-2 ), Aonghus Callanan (0-3 ), Gearóid Canavan, Colin Sheridan (0-1 ), Gearóid Armstrong, Cathal McGinley. Subs used: Ronan Conlon, Enda Dunne (0-1 ), Eoin Hyland, Niall Conroy.

Salthill Knocknacarra Junior B team: Niall McTiernan, Ryan Murray, Carl Donlon, Mike Maguire, Cian McGinn, Eamonn Ó Sé, Paul Kearney, Colin McCaul (0-1 ), Mark Sheehan (Cpt ), (0-3 ), Cian Fadden (0-1 ), Cian O Connell, Eoghan Burke (0-1 ), Dessie Lyons, Gearóid Ó Ledihinn (0-3 ), Anthony Donnellan (0-1 ). Subs used: Johnny Martin (1-0 ), Eoin McGinn, Sean Flaherty, Fergal Costello.


Page generated in 0.1801 seconds.