Local businessman Frank Heneghan is set to create 20 new jobs with the opening of The Co-op, a new bar/restaurant/venue in Moycullen on September 18.
Heneghan has restored the derelict building which is now set to become a hub of activity and entertainment.
The Co-op buildingdates back to 1918 and is most distinguishable, at first glance, by its unique large Diocletian window at the upper level. Initially,the building was constructed to house the Moycullen Agricultural Co-operative Society Ltd. At its height it had more than 350 members and was one of the largest in Connacht in the early 20th century. However by 1927 the Co-op had ceased trading, at which point the building was acquired by Ms Josephine O'Rourke who ran a grocery business for a number of years. Subsequently, various other uses were made of the building, including a dance hall, boat building, and carpet manufacturing.
The building has been restored to its former glory under the guidance of Heneghan, who is no stranger to such projects, having previously restored the Bridge Mills in Galway city. Those interested in employment can call 087 699 7833.