Athenry Industries clinch All Ireland title in injury time

Athenry Industries won their first All Ireland Interfirms title when they defeated Zimmer from Sixmilebridge, Clare, by 1-20 to 1-19 in the recent All Ireland Junior Hurling Final in Duggan Park Ballinasloe.

It was a fine achievement for the Athenry men who were appearing in their first final. Gort’s Aidan Helebert, with 0-12, was scorer in chief, while Michael Mullin scored the crucial first-half goal.

The Clare side built up an early lead before Mullin goal's brought Athenry Industries into the game at the end of the opening quarter.

Zimmer was the better side in the opening half and approaching half-time they were three points ahead, but a trio of frees from Aidan Helebert ensured the sides were level at the break.

The tide turned in the second as Athenry Industries took control. Playing some fine hurling, the led by three points as the match approached injury time.

However a dramatic last-gasp goal from Cian Kelly in that extra period levelled the contest before a late Aidan Helebert pointed free landed the spoils for the Athenry side.

Scorers, Athenry Industries: A Helebert (0-12, 9f ), M Mullins(1-0 ), D Barry, E Concannon(0-2 each ), J Gaynor, B McDonagh, D Lynch, E Holland (0-1 each ). Zimmer: A Lynch (0-8, 2 65’s, 4f ), M O’Shea (0-5 ), C Kelly(1-1 ), D O’Connel l(0-2 ), D Gannon, P Chaplin, B O Gorman (0-1 each )

Athenry Industries: John Grealish (Athenry ), Cathal Kennedy (Mullagh ), Dermot O'Halloran (Athenry ), James Coen (Killimordaly ), JustinGaynor (Mullagh ), Jamie Holland (Turloughmore ), Dara Joyce (Turloughmore ), Enda Concannon (Castlegar )(c ),Donal Barry (Castlegar ), Barry McDonagh (Turloughmore ), Aiden Helebert (Gort ), James Concannon (Castlegar ), Mike Mullins (Athenry ), Albert Mullin (Gort ), David Lynch (Killmaley, Clare ). Subs: Sean Nugent (Carnmore ), Eanne Holland (Naomh Brid, Carlow ), Paddy Hardiman (Mullagh ), Gerard Kelly (St Thomas ), Sean Collins (Turloughmore ).


Page generated in 0.0900 seconds.