Minors claim their fourth in a row

The Galway minor footballers, under the guidance of Donal Ó Fatharta, won the Connacht championship for the fourth year in a row when they defeated the home side by 2-13 to 2-09 at Hyde Park on Sunday.

They will now face Clare in the All-Ireland quarter-finals, with Roscommon fixed to face Munster champions Kerry.

This final was the first minor title at U17 and Galway were worthy victors.

Corofin starlet Matthew Cooley shot 0-5 from play from corner forward, with Eoghan Tinney and team captain Conor Raftery getting in for the crucial goals.

Galway : Donie Halloran, Cian Deane, Seán Black, Ethan Walsh, Ryan Monaghan (4fs ), Tony Gill, Cathal Sweeney, Paul Kelly (0-1 ), Conor Raftery (cpt ) (1-0 ), Liam Judge, Aidan Halloran (0-1 ), Oisín McCormack, Eoghan Tinney (1-1 ), Daniel Cox (0-1 ), Matthew Cooley (0-5 ). Subs: Conor Halbard for Gill, Sean Horkan for McCormack, Oisin Gormally for Judge.


Page generated in 0.1527 seconds.