Westmeath gaa schedule for 2015

Gaelic football

A cruel 2014 at inter-county level for Westmeath concluded without a competitive win so new manager Tom Cribbin will be hoping to make an impact in the new year. Westmeath face three games in the Bord Na Mona O’Byrne Cup before the Allianz Football League clicks into gear.

Having suffered in the bear-pit that constitutes the top flight, Westmeath will be seeking better performances and results in Division Two. The fact that Westmeath’s first two encounters against Laois and Galway will be staged at Cusack Park, Mullingar ensures the Midlanders can make a positive start. It will be needed because trips to Kildare, Meath, and Cavan promise to be revealing. How Westmeath cope in those fixtures will be monitored with interest ahead of the Leinster Senior Football Championship opener on May 17 away to Louth.

When the teams last collided a late Louth burst flattened a Westmeath outfit miserably low on confidence in Mullingar. That Drogheda clash has a defining cut to it so Cribbin will be keen to utilise the 10 matches before then in the Bord Na Mona O’Byrne Cup and Allianz Football League. In a little under a month the action recommences.

Dates for the diary

Bord na Mona O’Byrne Cup Group C

Sunday January 4

Westmeath v Meath

Wednesday January 7

Westmeath v DCU

Sunday January 11

Longford v Westmeath

Allianz Football League Division Two

Sunday February 1

Westmeath v Laois

Sunday February 8

Westmeath v Galway

Sunday March 1

Kildare v Westmeath

Saturday March 7

Meath v Westmeath

Sunday March 15

Westmeath v Down

Saturday March 28

Cavan v Westmeath

Sunday April 5

Westmeath v Roscommon

Leinster Senior Football Championship

Sunday May 17

Louth v Westmeath

Sunday June 14

Louth/Westmeath v Wexford

Sunday June 28

Louth/Westmeath/Wexford v Wicklow/Meath

Sunday July 12

Leinster Football Final

Hurling

With Raharney’s stirring Leinster Club Championship campaign providing an injection of hope, Westmeath’s hurlers will be anxious to improve further next year under Michael Ryan’s stewardship.

The former Waterford boss has put a decent backroom team together so Westmeath will want to impress in Division 2A of the Allianz Hurling League. The January Walsh Cup tussles at home to Offaly and Galway will be an ideal testing ground for Ryan, who will work diligently in the spring to ensure Westmeath are primed for the Leinster Championship round robin series in May.

Dates for the diary

Bord na Mona O’Byrne Cup Group 4

Sunday January 11

Westmeath v Offaly

Sunday January 18

Westmeath v Galway

Allianz Hurling League Division 2A

Sunday February 15

Westmeath v London

Sunday February 22

Derry v Westmeath

Sunday March 8

Kerry v Westmeath

Sunday March 15

Westmeath v Wicklow

Sunday March 22

Westmeath v Carlow

Leinster Senior Hurling Championship

Sunday May 3

Westmeath v Carlow

Sunday May 10

Westmeath v Antrim

Sunday May 24

Laois v Westmeath

Advertisement

 

Page generated in 0.0887 seconds.