Athlone Tennis Club Notes

Junior autumn league runners up: Evan Conway, Eric Mc Gann, Harry O’Rourke, and Aoife Raleigh, with Martin O’Rourke and Peter Keenan.

Junior autumn league runners up: Evan Conway, Eric Mc Gann, Harry O’Rourke, and Aoife Raleigh, with Martin O’Rourke and Peter Keenan.

Junior autumn league

The junior autumn league final was played on Thursday last with teams A and E competing in the final. The final series of matches were very evenly contested and when the aggregate scores were added only one game separated the two teams. The players on both teams played exciting tennis; the spectators greatly appreciated the various skills displayed. Team A players Mark Bass, Jack Mc Gann, Erika Hannssen and Gertie O’Rourke won 21 games and Team E players Evan Conway, Eric Mc Gann, Harry O’Rourke, and Aoife Raleigh won 20 games. Dave Costello welcomed sponsor, Peter Keenan of Keenan Sports who presented the prizes.

Senior autumn league

The senior autumn league finals were played on Friday last with team E playing against team F. This final was also well contested and the seven players on each team displayed the many and varied skills of the game. Team E consisting of the following players Derek Stenson, Dave Costello, Pat Conway, Anna Walsh, Julianne Heavey, Jimmy Raleigh, and Aisling O’Shea Canconnan. They were the winners, while team F players Clem Higginbotham, Geoff Yorke, Steven Warren, Jacinta Digby, Kara Diffley, Stephen O’Farrell, and Eimear O’Carroll were the runners up. Presentations were made to all the players at the AGM by ladies’ captain Jacinta Digby.

Christmas hampers team competition

The tournaments committee are organising Christmas hampers competitions for junior and senior players. It will be a team competition run on a knock out basis. It will be run over the first three weeks of December. If interested in playing please sign up in the clubhouse before Thursday November 27.

Annual general meeting

The AGM was held in the clubhouse on Friday 21 at 9pm. It was held after the autumn league presentation and a large crowd attended. Mary Breen, club secretary, gave a comprehensive report on the year’s events and reported on all club activities and competitions.

Anne Dooley, club treasurer, reported on the club’s income and expenses for the year. Her report was well received as it showed a nice positive balance. Dave Costello, club chairperson, outlined plans for the coming year. These included further development to the clubhouse and the provision of a practice wall. He thanked the tournaments committee for organizing all-year competitions for both junior and senior members. Finally he expressed his appreciation and thanks to the officers, committee, members and sponsors who made the year very rewarding. He thanked Athlone GAA committee for their continued support and cooperation.

Officers and committee for 2008- 2009

Chairperson; Dave Costello; Secretary, Mary Breen; Treasurer, Jacinta Digby; Ladies’ Captain, Carolyn Tunney; Men’s Captain, Geoff Yorke; PRO, Clem Higginbotham; Membership Secretary, Mary Jo O’Farrell; Junior Organiser, Martin O’Rourke; Committee, Pat Conway, James Raleigh, Bernie Fitzgerald, Joan O’ Brien, Anne Dooley, Lucas Mierzwa, Darek Materniak.



Page generated in 0.0768 seconds.