Accolades achieved at annual Buccaneers touch rugby awards

Anthony Mangan (l) receives the Buccaneers Touch Rugby ‘Spirit of Touch Award’ from Denis O’Connor

Anthony Mangan (l) receives the Buccaneers Touch Rugby ‘Spirit of Touch Award’ from Denis O’Connor

Dead Centre Brewing was the Athlone location for the annual hosting of the Buccaneers Touch Rugby awards at which six deserving winners were selected to receive their sporting accolades.

During the awards ceremony, the achievements of those recipients were detailed with a positive reflection on the sporting calendar year as thoughts turn towards making even further on field progress in 2020.

Under 18 Player of the Year (Joint Winners )

Leah Downes and Zara Kurt-Elli

Leah and Zara were both part of the Ireland Under 18 Girls squad that took part in this year’s Junior European Championships in Paris in August. They both also made their debuts for Buccaneers in the Irish Touch Series.

Spirit of Touch

Anthony Mangan

This award recognises qualities such as participation, fun, dedication and playing the game in the right spirit. Offaly man Anthony also won the award in 2018.

Best Newcomer

Manuel Aymerich

Madrid native Manuel only took up Touch in early 2019 but he has impressed with his pace, enthusiasm and high work rate.

Female Player of the Year

Eva Henshaw

Eva only started playing in mid-2019 but has picked up the game very quickly. You could say it is in the blood as her famous cousin Robbie is also pretty useful with an oval ball!

Male Player of the Year

Paul Gavin

Paul was the top try scorer in competitive action for Buccaneers in 2019 and has become a key player for the team. He also played for the Irish Wolfhounds team that reached the final of the European Senior Cup in Lisbon in October.



Page generated in 0.1322 seconds.