Local football clubs receive accolades at annual CCFL awards ceremony

The Combined Counties Football League (CCFL ) awards ceremony took place in the Bridge House, Tullamore, on Friday night last, with Midlands football club representatives populating the venue at the annually hosted event.

The success of football clubs and individual players from Athlone and its environs was duly acknowledged with numerous accolades being worthily claimed during the formal presentation.

CCFL stawart, Earl Gaylard, who presently dons his boots for the Monksland United cause received the Player Merit award for his on field footballing prowess. During his time playing in the CCFL, Earl has also played with Willow Park and Ballinahown and is set to feature for St. Comans in the forthcoming Over 35's league which commences this weekend.

Louise Molloy, representing Willow Park, received the Women's Player Merit award, while Ballinahown, who field two teams in the CCFL, received the Fair Play award.

Enda Kenny, who started the season playing with Monksland United, was afforded an international recognition award having donned the green jersey as part of the Irish Garda squad which qualified for the European Championships in Prague last summer.

The main accolade of the evening, Club of the Year, was awarded to Willow Park FC. The DPD based side are perennial achievers within the CCFL echelons and their second team won the Senior Division, following a season long tussle with rivals Monksland United.


Page generated in 0.0906 seconds.