Westmeath pharmacists in the running for prestigious awards

Two County Westmeath pharmacists have been shortlisted for the 2009 Helix Health Irish Pharmacist Awards it was announced this week. The awards highlight the significant contribution made by pharmacists throughout the country to their local communities and the healthcare profession.

The Irish Pharmacist Awards are open to all those in the pharmacy profession in research, science, and community or practice based practice fields across the country.

Marie O’Brien of O’Brien’s Pharmacy, Mullingar has been nominated for the Pharmacists Contribution to the Community Award sponsored by Hilary Haydon and Company Chartered Accounts. The award will be presented to a pharmacist who has, through involvement in non-pharmacy work in his/her locality, delivered notable benefits for their community.

The second pharmacist to be nominated from Westmeath is Richard Woods of Woods Pharmacy, Mullingar who has been nominated for the Teva Patient Nominated Award.

Commenting on the shortlist, Howard Beggs, chief executive of Helix Health, said, “The calibre of entries for this year’s awards has been outstanding, and the shortlist is a testament to the hard work and commitment pharmacists throughout Ireland have demonstrated to their patients and to research in the field.

“We have been very impressed with the high standard of practice and innovation the award entrants have demonstrated as well as the great amount of support shown by the public to their pharmacists through the Patient Nominated Award,” added Beggs.

Among the shortlisted entries are pharmacists from counties Clare, Cork, Dublin, Galway, Kildare, Louth, Mayo, and Sligo. At the awards ceremony on May 9, the prestigious awards for Lifetime Achievement and Overall Pharmacist of the Year will also be presented. The awards were set up to support the Benevolent Fund of the Pharmaceutical Society of Ireland and hope to raise €40,000 this year.



Page generated in 0.1269 seconds.