Search Results for 'Tom Nally'
3 results found.
In 1881, Father Lally was made parish priest of Rahoon. At the time the parish was served by two churches, Bushypark and Barna, Dr McEvilly, Bishop of Galway was appointed as Archbishop of Tuam, and Father Lally was made Vicar Capitular of the Diocese in the interregnum until the appointment of a successor to Dr McEvilly. Dr McEvilly was aware that the very large parish of Rahoon had no central church so he gave Fr Lally money to start the process of erecting a new church beside the Presentation Convent. Fr Lally collected the funds and employed direct labour to build the church. The foundation stone of St Joseph’s was laid on April 22, 1882, and the church was consecrated on February 7, 1886.
After one of the busiest weekends in the club calendar last weekend the quarter-finalists in the Mayo GAA senior championships are now known. The defending champions Castlebar Mitchels who were pushed into second place in their group after a Ballina Stephenites saw them off 3-8 to 1-10 last weekend - will face Knockmore in the last eight on Saturday in Ballina at 5pm in a repeat of last years county final. Knockmore were handed the toughest draw of all the table toppers when Mitchels slipped into second place in the table thanks to efforts of Evan Regan and Ciaran Tracey who finished up with 1-3 each in Ballina’s surprise win. Knockmore made it three wins from three in their group with a comfortable 2-11 to 1-9 win over Westport in Castlebar, with Peter Naughton hitting six points for them.
St Michael’s Club was formed in 1956 after Galway won the All-Ireland football final. The first AGM was held in Tom Connolly’s house in Lower Shantalla Road, and they played their first game in 1957. Among those who founded the club were Pa Boyle (whose brainchild it was), Mick O’Toole, John Duignan, Mick Higgins, Liam Cunningham, and Sergeant O’Toole. They started as a dual club, but after a few years they concentrated solely on football.