Search Results for 'Tom Kenny'
22 results found.
It is customary that in parts of southern Nigeria when a man goes fishing his wife remains behind him chatting to other wives in similar positions. When the husband catches a fish he swings his rod over his shoulder, his wife unhooks the fish, bites down on its head sufficiently to kill it, and pops it into their basket.
Leisureland is delighted to present Old Salthill, a photographic exhibition by guest curator Tom Kenny of Kenny’s Bookshop and Gallery, who is well-known for his long-running and popular local-history column, Old Galway, in the Galway Advertiser.
SALTHILL, FROM its days as a "wholesome if uninteresting place" to today, when it is a popular west of Ireland seaside resort, will be chronicled in a photographic exhibition in the Galway City Museum.
WHEN THE late photographer Bill Doyle first visited the Aran Islands in 1964 and began to photograph the local people, he was capturing a way of life that has since vanished.
ONE OF Galway’s most venerable arts groups is celebrated in Kenny’s Gallery from next week, when the venue hosts a large scale exhibition saluting 80 years of Galway Art Club.
On October 6 1928, writer, journalist, teacher, and raconteur Pádraic Ó Conaire died in tragic poverty in Richmond Hospital, Dublin, at the age of 46. Since the turn of the century he had established himself as one of the leading lights of the Gaelic Revival, an innovative writer who pioneered the short story in Irish.
IN MAY 1922, a bronze memorial statue to Lord Dunkellin, which had stood in Eyre Square for almost 50 years, was pulled from its pedestal and dumped into the River Corrib. It disappeared overnight and has never resurfaced.
LAST SATURDAY afternoon the Town Hall Theatre bar hosted the opening of Timeless, a delightful exhibition of paintings by Kathy Ross, inspired by her locality of Coolreagh, near Tuam.
HOW DID a freed slave, and the first American sporting hero, end up being buried in a pauper’s grave in Mervue? The fascinating story of Tom Molineaux will be told in a new documentary to be screened at the Galway Film Fleadh.
I have written before about the woeful lack of ambulances that serviced the old Central Hospital, especially in the 1930s. That shortage became acute during the war. Because of the severe rationing of petrol, and the unavailability of spare parts, for a long period only two ambulances were available for the whole county. As they were frequently on the road simultaneously there was no reserve vehicle to answer any emergency.