Search Results for 'St Patricks School'
5 results found.
The establishment by the Patrician Brothers of a school for boys would have a fundamental influence on education in Galway for about 130 years. The school was set up by Brothers Paul O’Connor and James Walsh on a site belonging to the Charity Free School which was formerly an army barracks, and it opened in January 1827. Three hundred boys attended on that day. The total funding available to the school was the sum of one shilling.
ONE OF Galway’s most venerable arts groups is celebrated in Kenny’s Gallery from next week, when the venue hosts a large scale exhibition saluting 80 years of Galway Art Club.
There was no problem parking on Mainguard Street when this turn of the century photograph was taken. The building to the right was O’Connor’s confectioners and tearooms. They obviously sold newspapers there as well and there was a rate collector’s office in part of the premises. The building was later taken over as a news agency by Mick Holland until it and several others along the street were destroyed in a disastrous fire in May 1967.
This being the time of the year when the children start school or go back to school, it prompts memories of our own days behind the desk, ‘the happiest days of our life’ as they are referred to.
The recently appointed principal of the oldest boys’ primary school in the city says her vision for the facility is to discover and nurture the talents and abilities of its young students.