Search Results for 'Salmon Weir bridge'

15 results found.

Newtownsmith

image preview

There is a very interesting map of “St Stephen’s Island” in Mary Naughten’s excellent little history of the Parish of St Francis in Woodquay. It is dated 1785 and shows the beginnings of what would be now known as Newtownsmith. It consisted mostly of small houses, yards, malt houses, and a burial ground. This ‘new town’ was largely built by the governors of the Erasmus Smith estate. In this suburb, a county courthouse was erected between 1812 and 1815, and a town courthouse during 1824. In 1823 it was objected that there were several suitable sites for a new courthouse ‘immediately in the town’ and that it was ’quite idle’ to lay foundations in Newtownsmith, or in any part of the suburb.

Take a Gourmet Taste Trail of Galway

image preview

One of the highlights of this year's Galway Food Festival will be the taste trail of Galway, involving tours and excursions around the city and county, including explorations of the history of wild salmon fishery in Galway, visiting a range of different restaurants, and collecting seaweed along Silverstrand.

Macnas’s Shadow Lighter parade set to illuminate weekend

image preview

The legendary Macnas Parade takes to the streets of Galway this Sunday at 5.30pm, to once again sprinkle its unique magic dust over the city streets. This year’s parade is entitled The Shadow Lighter and it celebrates the magical, mystical act of transformation.

Macnas's Shadow Lighter parade set to illuminate weekend

image preview

The legendary Macnas Parade takes to the streets of Galway this Sunday at 5.30pm, to once again sprinkle its unique magic dust over the city streets. This year’s parade is entitled The Shadow Lighter and it celebrates the magical, mystical act of transformation.

‘A ghostly presence through trees and over bog’

image preview

One of Ireland’s great engineering feats in the 19th century was the building of the Galway - Clifden railway. After 30 years of argument as to which was the best route, the first train steamed out of Galway to Oughterard on January 1 1895; and the final section to Clifden was finished by July of that year.

  • 1
  • 2 (current)
 

Page generated in 0.0442 seconds.