Search Results for 'Michael Walsh'
5 results found.
The Connaught Journal of July 1823 reported that Michael Walsh, the nailer of Bridge Street, was in great distress. He was described as being very poor, and though he worked hard, his life had been a struggle for some 12 years now because of a ‘disease of his leg’. The unfortunate man had to have the leg amputated and was now ‘reduced to extreme want’ as he was unable to work. The newspaper highlighted his predicament and hoped that the charitable and humane people of Galway would contribute to his support while he was recovering from the operation. So we know that the nailer was in business there some 200 years ago.
At times it was sparkling, others nerve wracking but at the end of the day it was just brilliant as Galway ended a 29-year wait to bring the Liam McCarthy Cup west of the Shannon for the fifth time. Three minutes in looked like they might do it the easy way, hitting Waterford for three points in the opening 180 seconds, but once Kevin Moran got in behind the Galway defence and drove the ball low past Colm Callanan in the Galway goal to kick life into what looked like a startled Waterford, it was game on.
This club has been a source of guidance and inspiration to the youth of Galway, especially those of working class background, since its foundation by Fr Leonard Shiel SJ, a priest of great vision, in 1940. Indeed this wonderful structure owes a great debt to the Jesuit Order. Since the beginning the club has been based behind the Columban Hall in Sea Road. From the first nervous day of membership, right through their teens, and even in adult life, the spirit and ever watchful eye of the club is with the boys.
The All-Ireland senior Wall Ball (One Wall) Champion had it all to do in Melbourne. First he survived a tie-break against Sydney's Dylan King in the quarters before clawing back a 17-20 deficit in the semi-final to win 21-20, 21-4, and book his place in the final. Here he faced New York's Ed Dotsenko which the Galway and Moycullen man won 21-17, 21-8.
This remarkable photograph was taken in 1920/21. It shows a group of republican prisoners who are being held in the Town Hall. They are surrounded by barbed wire and are being carefully watched by a soldier you can see standing beside the tin hut. He is wearing a ‘Brodie’ helmet which was a steel combat helmet invented by Englishman John Brodie during World War I. There were probably more soldiers on duty inside the hut watching the detainees, the photographer, and anyone else who might have been was passing. A notice on one of the windows reads “No one is allowed within ten yards of this building.”