Search Results for 'Michael King'
7 results found.
This photograph was taken from the far side of the docks c1900 and shows New Docks Road in the distance and Bonham Quay on the right.
In 1871, Thomas Lipton from Glasgow used his savings to open his first shop. By the 1880s he had more than 200 shops. He was an entrepreneur, and when he realised that there was potential for growth in the market for tea, and that the product was too expensive, he went to Ceylon and bought his own tea plantation. He sold his tea at low prices in one pound, half pound, and quarter pound packets, and he advertised it very cleverly: “Direct from the Tea Gardens to the Teapot,” or, “Treat your Lips to a Cup Of Lipton’s Peko Tips Tea, two shillings and eight pence per pound.”
Senior cycle and pre-senior cycle students, and their families, are invited to attend the second annual Claremorris Career Day 2018, which takes place in the McWilliam Park Hotel, Claremorris, on Saturday, January 20 (11am to 2pm).
St Attracta’s Church, Kiltartan was the scene of a joyful outpouring of faith last week as the parish celebrated the 175th anniversary of the opening of the church. The clergy, led by four Mass servers, walked in procession from the old church while the large outdoor bell was rung by Tommy Nolan. The faith journey of the parish was recalled by the chief celebrant, a native of the parish, Canon Martin Downey.
The All-Ireland Minor Gaelic Football Championship for under-18 boys was introduced in the late 1920s by the GAA, the first champions were Clare in 1929.
A Salthill man who was ordained to the priesthood in 1982 was appointed diocesan administrator earlier this week.
The announcement was made in Rome at 11am (Irish time) that His Holiness Pope Francis has accepted the retirement of Most Reverend Martin Drennan, Bishop of Galway and Kilmacduagh, and Apostolic Administrator of Kilfenora, on grounds of ill health and on medical advice.