Search Results for 'Lady’s Boys Club'
4 results found.
When OLBC was founded in 1940, the Government provided no out of school education for young people. There was a great need for social and recreational facilities. Such activity was virtually non-existent in the working class areas of Bohermore, Shantalla, The Claddagh, and ‘The West’. The critical core of the club was (and is) its generic youth club which met (and still meets) several evenings a week. The primary aim in those days was to show the boys ways and means of securing their own destiny.
Our photograph today is of a 1950s soccer team representing Our Lady’s Boys Club, taken in Terryland where facilities were quite primitive at the time and, as you can see, the preferred mode of transport apart from shank’s mare was cycling. The team is, back row, left to right: Patsy Burke, Richie O’Connor, Brod Long, Brendan Dowling, Paddy Power, Tommy Carr, Paddy Beatty. In front are Danny Collins, Billy Carr, John Rushe, Steve Mannion, Gus O’Connor, and Barney Birkett.
Mayor of Galway city Councillor Hildegarde Naughton cut the tape and officially opened the new clubhouse for Our Lady’s Boys Club at Sea Road.
James P Cunningham, the president of Our Lady’s Boys Club, was named Galway City Credit Union’s Volunteer of the Year at the sixth Annual Mayor’s Awards for Galway, which were held in The Black Box.