Search Results for 'Henry L. Smith'

2 results found.

The Garda Barracks, Salthill

image preview

The building which houses the Garda station in Salthill was originally called Forster Park and was constructed as a summer house by the Blake Forster family at the end of the 18th century. In 1850, it was bought by the Palmer family who were well known whiskey distillers, flour millers, and makers of porter. Most of their business was based in Nuns’ Island. Their coat of arms can still be seen on the facade of this building. We can presume that Palmer’s Rock (sometimes known as Saunder’s Rock), on the shore in front of this house, was named after a member of the family.

‘Missing’ garda firearm found in garda station

A garda-issue firearm and a large quantity of ammunition, which was thought to have gone missing from Tipperary Garda Station, has been found in the garda station.


Page generated in 0.0429 seconds.