Search Results for 'Geraldine'
11 results found.
On-field rugby action for the season commences with a hugely attractive match between Connacht and Wasps at Dubarry Park, Athlone, on Saturday afternoon.
Top English Premiership rugby club Wasps will play Connacht in a highly attractive season opening fixture at Dubarry Park, Athlone. This match, which will be Connacht new head coach Andy Friend’s first game in charge, kicks off at 3pm on Saturday, August 18. Tickets are now on sale for this encounter (see below for details).
Athlone is mourning the death of well-known local chef Michael Talty, whose body was retrieved from the River Shannon on Sunday.
The people of south Mayo will have an unusual opportunity to 'dunk' their friends in the name of charity. A number of events will be held in Ballinrobe on Friday next, August 11, to raise funds for the LauraLynn Foundation. Stephen Cummins, who is originally from Caherlisterane but now living in Ballinrobe, came up with the idea having seen an item on television about the work the foundation do for young children with cancer.
The Buccaneers Awards Gala Ball takes place in the Sheraton Athlone Hotel this Saturday, May 13, from 7.30pm.
Buccaneers won a handful of awards at the Connacht Rugby Awards Ball in Galway on Sunday night, April 30.
The Mayo Rape Crisis Centre have this week revealed the seven nominees who have been selected to go forward for the Mayo Inspirational Woman of the Year award. The recipient of the award will be revealed at the annual Nollaig na Mban event which will be held in the Ballina Manor Hotel on January 6 and it will be presented by Marian Harkin MEP on the evening.
The Tony Parker Foundation is to provide its 100th defibrillator to a location in the centre of Athlone, councillors were informed at November’s meeting of the Athlone Municipal District.
Dangan House, “beautifully situated on the banks of the fine river Corrib” directly opposite Menlo Castle, was built in 1684 as the seat of the Martin family. ‘Humanity Dick’ Martin was brought up there. John Redington purchased Dangan Demesne from Anthony Martin about 1830 and became the proprietor of the townland. It was, for a short time afterwards, converted into an Ursuline Convent. The nuns were there from 1839 to 1844. Dangan House was left to the Board of Guardians of the Galway Union for an auxiliary workhouse until 1854. The only trace of the original Martin building today is the tea-house folly which is on the banks of the river. A nearby property known as Dangan Cottage was leased by a number of American artists in the 1870s but was described as a ruin in the 1890s.
I am sure that the good sisters at the renowned Ursuline convent school, Sligo, had no idea what they were letting themselves in for when Eilís Dillon and her sisters landed as boarders at their door. The Dillon girls were confident, challenging and extremely well read. Much of that confidence came from their fiercely nationalistic mother and father and their commitment during the War of Independence. Both parents were imprisoned; their father, Professor Tom Dillon, was ‘on the run’ for most of that time.