Search Results for 'Ashbourne Cup'

72 results found.

Cats get the cream at Camogie All-stars

All-Ireland Champions Cork may have dominated the Camogie All-Stars with Gemma O’Connor getting honoured for an unprecedented sixth successive time and five players receiving All Star awards for the first time.

Fitzgibbon Cup winners, 1970

image preview

Shortly after the GAA was founded 125 years ago, the universities started putting out hurling and Gaelic football teams and competing against each other. These intervarsity competitions were put on a formal basis with the presentation of the Sigerson Cup for football in 1911, the Fitzgibbon Cup for hurling in 1912, and the Ashbourne Cup for camogie in 1915. Involvement in the GAA in third level institutions was a help to many students in adapting to a new life away from their homes and local clubs. It gave them a common interest with fellow students and helped the process of integration into a more diverse community.


Page generated in 0.0432 seconds.