Search Results for 'Abbey Church'

9 results found.

The Abbey Church

image preview

In the year 1296, Uilliam Liath De Burgo started to build a monastery for the Franciscans on a site roughly where the Courthouse is today. It became known as “St Francis’ Abbey on the island of Saint Stephen on the north side of the town”. The island was formed by the river on the west side, and by a branch of the river running through what is Woodquay and Mary Street today, to join the main stream above O’Brien’s Bridge. A second and smaller island lay between St Stephen’s and the town wall, so in order to communicate with the town, two bridges were necessary, one at the junction of Mary Street and Abbeygate Street and the other at the Little Gate.

The Abbey Church

image preview

In the year 1296, Uilliam Liath De Burgo started to build a monastery for the Franciscans on a site roughly where the Courthouse is today. It became known as “St Francis’ Abbey on the island of Saint Stephen on the north side of the town”. The island was formed by the river on the west side, and by a branch of the river running through what is Woodquay and Mary Street today, to join the main stream above O’Brien’s Bridge. A second and smaller island lay between St Stephen’s and the town wall, so in order to communicate with the town, two bridges were necessary, one at the junction of Mary Street and Abbeygate Street and the other at the Little Gate.

advertiser In brief...

image preview

Cathedral looking for petal donations

Papal Nuncio to address Catholic conference in city on Saturday

image preview

Papal Nuncio, Archbishop Jude Thaddeus Okolo, Pope Francis’s representative in Ireland will be guest speaker at a special one day Festival of Faith entitled Raising Hearts & Giving Hope this Saturday February 10 in the Ardilaun Hotel, Galway.

Mass of Thanksgiving for Abbey restoration works

A Mass of Thanksgiving will be celebrated at the Abbey Church in St Francis Street on Sunday at 11am following the completion of the re-wiring, re-painting and restoration works carried out at the church during the past 18 months.

advertiser In brief...

City council launches local community festivals grants

One hundred and seventy five years of Mercy education in Galway

image preview

The Sisters of Mercy came to Galway on May 1 1840. They started, in extremely difficult circumstances, in Lombard Street with three postulants. The need for uncloistered sisters who would be free to go about the streets and visit the poor in home, hospital, and jail was very great at the time. They were out and about the day after their arrival. An epidemic of cholera had broken out and they helped to nurse the ill and alleviate distress. They quickly prospered to become “Reputedly the best institution that ever was in Galway”.

St Patrick’s Day parade in Galway, 1916

image preview

This parade started from the Square in the following order: Eyre Square North – Industrial School Band; Galway Urban District Council; Galway Board of Guardians; Students of UCG; AOH. Eyre Square East – The Monastery School Fife and Drum Band; UIL; Town Tenant’s League; Galway Woollen Manufacturing Co; and the Irish National Foresters.

Star-studded cabaret to raise funds for restoration of The Abbey

image preview

The Abbey will hold a star-studded cabaret next month as part of its fundraising effort to improve and repair the church.

 

Page generated in 0.0434 seconds.