Fianna Fail Castlebar Comhairle Ceantar elect new officers

The annual meeting of Castlebar Comhairle Ceantar Fianna Fail was held in An Sportlann with the chairman Junior Prendergast presiding. The meeting was addressed by newly elected Dáil deputy Lisa Chambers, and by Cllr Al McDonnell, Cllr Blackie Gavin, and the recently co-opted Cllr Martin McLoughlin.

Members reviewed progress over the past year, the high point of which was the election of Lisa Chambers to Dail Eireann. Tributes were paid to all who had worked hard on her campaign to ensure the successful outcome. The meeting was preceded by the AGM of the Castlebar Cumann, where Conor Smyth was elected chairman to succeed Martin McLoughlin.

Officers elected for the coming year for the Castlebar Comhairle Ceantar were chairman: Junior Prendergast, vice chairman: John Loughnane, joint presidents: Sean Nestor and John McEllin, secretary: Vincent Kenny, joint treasurers: Conor Smyth and Ger Feehan, youth officers: Ronan O'Malley and David Costello.

Mayo Abbey Cumann launched

There was a very large attendance at the inaugural meeting of the new Mayo Abbey Fianna Fail Cumann, held on Friday night last. The meeting was attended by Lisa Chambers TD, Cllr Blackie Gavin, Cllr Martin McLoughlinn, and constituency organiser Denis Gallagher, with Noel Langan, chairman of Balla Cumann, presiding. The following officers were elected: chairman: Albert Walsh, secretary: Aine Boyle, treasurer: Tiernan Cawley, Comhairle Ceantar delegate: John Prendergast.



Page generated in 0.1373 seconds.