Another exciting chapter in Kilkenny-Cork saga

Cork versus Kilkenny has always represented one of hurling’s great rivalries and now it’s heading for a new phase as they prepare to meet at the semi-final stage of the 2008 All-Ireland hurling senior championship.

The eagerly-awaited clash takes centre stage at Croke Park on Sunday (4.00pm) with the winners advancing to play Tipperary or Waterford in the final on September 7. Kilkenny, who are appearing in the semi-final for a 12th successive season, were last defeated in the championship in the 2005 All-Ireland semi-final where they lost to Galway.

Since then they have won twelve successive games against Wexford (4), Offaly (2), Galway (2), Westmeath (1), Clare (1), Cork (1), Limerick (1). Kilkenny have played just two games in this year’s campaign beating Offaly and Wexford.

Cork have had a busier schedule, having had to revive their All-Ireland prospects via the qualifiers after losing the Munster semi-final to Tipperary. However, qualifier wins over Dublin and Galway were followed by a quarter-final triumph over Clare.

Last ten championship meetings:

2006: Kilkenny 1-16 Cork 1-13 (All-Ireland final)

2004: Cork 0-17 Kilkenny 0-9 (All-Ireland final)

2003: Kilkenny 1-14 Cork 1-11 (All-Ireland final)

1999: Cork 0-13 Kilkenny 0-12 (All-Ireland final)

1992: Kilkenny 3-10 Cork 1-12 (All-Ireland final)

1983: Kilkenny 2-14 Cork 2-12 (All-Ireland final)

1982: Kilkenny 3-18 Cork 1-13 (All-Ireland final)

1978: Cork 1-15 Kilkenny 2-8 (All-Ireland final)

1972: Kilkenny 3-24 Cork 5-11 (All-Ireland final)

1969: Kilkenny 2-15 Cork 2-9 (All-Ireland final)

Kilkenny 7 Cork 3

Last championship clash:

Kilkenny 1-16, Cork 1-13 (2006 All-Ireland final)

Kilkenny: J McGarry; M Kavanagh, N Hickey, J Tyrrell; T Walsh, J Tennyson, J Ryall; D Lyng (0-1), J Fitzpatrick (0-1); E Brennan (0-1), M Comerford (0-1), E Larkin; R Power (0-1), H Shefflin (0-8), A Fogarty (1-3).

Subs: W O’Dwyer for Larkin; R Mullally for Lyng.

Cork: D Og Cusack; P Mulcahy, D O’Sullivan, B Murphy; J Gardiner (0-1), R Curran, S Og O hAilpin; T Kenny; J O’Connor (0-1); T McCarthy, N McCarthy (0-1), N Ronan; B O’Connor 1-4; B Corcoran, J Deane (0-6).

Subs: K Murphy (Sarsfields) for Ronan; W Sherlock for Mulcahy, C Naughton for T McCarthy, C O’Connor for Murphy, C Cusack for Kenny.


Page generated in 0.1336 seconds.