Album review: Eternal Summers

Thu, Sep 10, 2015

ALMOST AS soon as the 1990s hit the '20 years ago' mark, a generation of young bands, many barely old enough to remember the decade, delved headlong into exploring the indie-rock sounds of that time, in the process reviving many of the styles of that era.

Read more ...

The ten mile reversal into Irish rural life

Thu, Sep 10, 2015

TWENTY-NINE years later, the route directions still resonate: “You drive as far as Malin Head and reverse 10 mile”. These were given to my brother Tom in 1986 when he received an invitation to what turned out to be one of the more singular book launches he ever attended.

Read more ...

Advertisement

Theatre review: Vernon God Little

Wed, Sep 09, 2015

THE MAN sitting behind me laughed uproariously. Volleys and explosions of mirth erupted from other punters nearby. A standing ovation greeted the final curtain. Yet Vernon God Little completely bypassed my own funnybone and that is nothing to do with Decadent’s fine stage adaptation of DBC Pierre’s Booker-winning novel. His brand of humour just doesn’t float my boat.

Read more ...

Cinema review: Me and Earl and the Dying Girl

Tue, Sep 08, 2015

DARKLY FUNNY and surprisingly profound, Alfonso Gomez-Rejon’s second feature is a real gem. If nothing else, it at least had my favourite film title of the year. It is a fresh take on this new wave of young adult weepies - The Fault In Our Stars, Now Is Good, and The Perks Of Being A Wallflower. Flms in this subgenre have been more hit than miss but are we getting to a saturation point of watching beautiful young people die?

Read more ...

Padraic McCormack - 'a writer in the John B Keane mode'

Thu, Sep 03, 2015

PETER MANDLESON'S autobiography includes a photograph of him relaxing at Mick Jagger’s house. It is hard to imagine former Galway West Fine Gael TD Padraic McCormack ever wanting to hang around with rock stars. Instead McCormack has a genuine interest in the eccentricities that make otherwise unremarkable people, in unremarkable places, far more interesting than anyone photographed with the late Princess Margaret.

Read more ...

Cinema review: Straight Outta Compton

Mon, Aug 31, 2015

STRAIGHT OUTTA Compton is the story of the rise, and then fall, of rap’s first super group, N.W.A, the group that introduced gangster rap to the mainstream in the late 1980s. The film has been the surprise hit of the summer in the US and looks like it will be a huge success here too.

Read more ...

Award winning actor/writer Emmett Hughes to write and star in Los Angeles thriller Axis 

Thu, Aug 27, 2015

Irish actor and Galway native Emmett Hughes, who wrote, produced, and starred in the award-winning film The O’Briens, is set to write and star in the upcoming independent thriller Axis.

The film, based on his original concept, will be set and shot entirely in Los Angeles. Actress and director Aisha Tyler, of such acclaimed TV shows as Friends, Archer, 24, and Criminal Minds, is set to produce via her company Hot Machine Films as well as direct.

Read more ...

Lunchtimes with ConTempo

Thu, Aug 27, 2015

The Galway Music Residency has announced details of the 2015/16 monthly lunchtime concert series with its ensemble in residence, the ConTempo Quartet.

Read more ...

Album review: Yo La Tengo

Thu, Aug 13, 2015

THIS IS not the first Yo La Tengo covers album, that was 2006's Yo La Tengo Is Murdering The Classics, featuring their take on artists as diverse as Yes and The Stooges. Stuff Like That There is a different, though equally eccentric, beast.

Read more ...

Cinema review: Fantastic Four

Mon, Aug 10, 2015

WHILE PIXAR'S latest, Inside/Out, could be the best film of the year, I have no doubt Fantastic Four WILL be the worst of 2015. It's rare you feel so cheated after spending money to see a film that is a miserable colourless mess with almost no redeeming qualities.

Read more ...

Album review: Led Zeppelin

Thu, Aug 06, 2015

IN LATE 1975, Led Zeppelin found themselves with just 18 days to record the follow-up to Physical Graffiti. The Rolling Stones were due at Musicland Studios in Munich, meaning Zep, despite their status as 'biggest band in the world', had to record the album and get out - quick.

Read more ...

The ghosts of 1916 get up and walk

Thu, Aug 06, 2015

THERE HAS been much quiet paranoia among the political and arts establishments on the subject of how to mark the centenary of the Easter Rising. The difficulty is the Rising was a revolutionary event to which most of our political class, and your average arts sector salary drawer, are spiritually opposed.

Read more ...

Moon’s Corner and The Stoic Man

Thu, Aug 06, 2015

THE STRUCTURE of Gerald Dawe’s memoir The Stoic Man, recently published by the Lagan Press, follows much the same general outline of his Selected Poems, published in 2012, and could easily be subtitled A Tale of Three Cities, beginning in the troubled city of Belfast, continuing on to the cultural melting pot that was Galway during the 1970s and 1980s, before moving on the comfortable avenues of Dún Laoghaire and the ivory towers of Trinity College.

Read more ...

Album review: The Frames

Thu, Jul 30, 2015

MY OPINION of The Frames has always been skewered towards the negative because of their debut single, the hideously awful 'The Dancer'. The band's knack of repackaging indie and alternative rock for mainstream audiences made them appear edgy to many - but only if you ignored what was going on in indie and alternative rock. Forgive the Indie-snobbery but that did not sit well with me either.

Read more ...

Album review: Tame Impala

Thu, Jul 23, 2015

WITH SONG titles like 'Yes I'm Changing', 'Love Paranoia', and 'New Person, Same Old Mistakes', you know you are in for a break-up album, but the theme is appropriate as a change in the life of Kevin Parker - who is Tame Impala, no matter how many other people are on stage - reflects a change in his music.

Read more ...

Theatre review: The Dead School (GYT & Galway Community Theatre)

Thu, Jul 23, 2015

ANYONE WHO has not yet booked a ticket for The Dead School, directed by Andrew Flynn and featuring a 23-strong cast drawn from Galway Youth Theatre and Galway Community Theatre, should remedy that post haste – this is one of the best shows in the Galway International Festival.

Read more ...

Theatre review: The Match Box

Wed, Jul 22, 2015

THE IRISH premiere of Frank McGuinness’s 2012 play, The Match Box, is one of the main attractions in this year’s Galway International Arts Festival, all the more so as it features Renmore's Cathy Belton, making her festival debut – and in a one-woman play to boot.

Read more ...

Cinema review: Song Of The Sea

Mon, Jul 20, 2015

THE OSCAR nominated Song Of The Sea, the much awaited follow up to 2009’s stunning The Secret of Kells, also Oscar nominated, from writer/director Tomm Moore, is finally on general release.

Read more ...

GIAF Theatre review: Luck Just Kissed You Hello

Thu, Jul 16, 2015

CO-PRODUCED by HotForTheatre and the Galway International Arts Festival, Amy Conroy’s new play, Luck Just Kissed You Hello, was one of the main events on the festival’s opening day.

Read more ...

GIAF Theatre review: Maum

Thu, Jul 16, 2015

AN TAIBHDHEARC has made some excellent contributions to the arts festival over recent years and this year’s production from the company is Sighle Ní Chonaill’s Maum, which recreates the events around the notorious Maumtrasna murders of 1882 where five members of one family were brutally slaughtered in their home.

Read more ...

E-paper

Read this weeks E-paper. Past editions also available from within this weeks digital copy.

 

Page generated in 0.0725 seconds.