Captain’s Day at Galway Lawn Tennis Club

The inaugural Captain’s Day event took place at GLTC on Sunday August 17 with Age Action named as the nominated charity for the day.

In the mixed doubles tournament Frans Van Deweijer and Serena Silke won the Orange Group, Pat Dillon and Evelyn Smyth triumphed in the Blue Group, while Con Holohan and Bridget Harrington Barry were victorious in the Purple Group.

Alec Sandys and Sarah Caulfield were the table tennis (new sport ) champions, Vincent Daly outshone everyone at “keepie uppies”, Helen Lawless was most knowledgeable at guessing the player, and in the main event, the fastest serve in the west award, Al Waterson and Emma Murphy were the big hitters with deliveries of 111 and 86 miles per hour respectively, closely followed by Jack Davies and Jennifer Hegarty who served at 100 and 83 miles per hour respectively.



Page generated in 0.1719 seconds.