Ray Rooney Memorial winners

In a repeat of last year’s final, Al Waterson and Pat Dillon overcame the spirited challenge of Donal Hegarty and Joe Higgins in the annual Ray Rooney Memorial doubles event at the Galway Lawn Tennis Club at the weekend.

Despite the blustery conditions, there was some fine tennis played over the weekend as the GLTC pairing of Claire Kenny and Deirdre Byrnes were victorious over Loughrea’s Olivia Deeley and Helen Lawless in the ladies’ event.

The competition is named after the late Ray Rooney, a long-term member at the Threadneedle Road club, who represented Ireland at veteran level and captured the Irish Open Junior boys’ doubles at Fitzwilliam.



Page generated in 0.1105 seconds.